关于治疗您必须了解的 5 件重要事项

考虑开始治疗?

迈出关注心理健康的第一步是一件勇敢而美妙的事情。然而,如果您还没有经历过治疗过程,那么不知道会发生什么可能会很可怕。

在这篇文章中,我根据我作为一名执业心理治疗师的经验,写下了关于治疗你必须了解的最重要的事情。我希望这篇文章可以帮助您更好地了解治疗的期望,并决定治疗是否适合您。

言归正传,以下是您必须了解的有关治疗的 5 件重要事项。

1 |接受治疗是完全正常的。

“我感觉不太高兴,但我不太确定这是否严重到需要……治疗。”

“那……你觉得我有什么问题吗?”

这是您需要了解的关于治疗的最重要的事情 – 接受治疗并不意味着您软弱或疯狂。来访者经常表达他们对寻求治疗的担忧和犹豫。鉴于围绕治疗理念的强烈耻辱,尤其是在我们的亚洲文化中,这些担忧是完全可以理解的。有一个严重的误解,认为如果您需要治疗,那么您一定有问题。

然而,事实是治疗适合每个人。寻求治疗与为生活的其他方面寻求专业护理一样正常,例如生病时咨询医生,或与私人教练一起提高体力。无论您是致力于将情绪健康从 0 分提高到 2 分,还是从 6 分提高到 8 分,这都同样重要、同样有价值。

2 |治疗不仅仅是‘说话’。

在最初的几次治疗中,治疗可能看起来只是“谈话”。通过分享你自己,我们的第一次会议非常重要,可以让我更好地了解你,了解你生活中的重大影响,并了解你在人生的这个阶段。从那里,我可以更好地了解您一直在努力解决的问题,并共同决定前进的最佳方式。

治疗也不同于与朋友交谈。您的朋友可能有自己的个人意见,并可能就他们认为您应该做什么向您提供建议。他们也可能带来自己的问题。作为您的治疗师,我关注的不是您最终决定的结果,而是您做出对自己来说最舒服的决定。

thinking about starting therapy with a professional counsellor

3 |治疗需要工作。

“我只需要你在下周考试前让她振作起来。”

治疗并不像灵丹妙药那样起作用。治疗需要您(客户)做很多工作。有些客户从第一次咨询开始就体验到了情感的释放,因为他们能够分享他们无法与其他人分享的事情。虽然这很棒,但大多数治疗改变和个人成长只有当你开始做困难的事情时才会发生。这可能意味着重新审视过去的痛苦经历,坐在不舒服的感觉中,并努力克服那些一直阻碍你的自我挫败的信念和行为。此外,治疗还要求您在治疗之外(即您的现实生活发生的地方)努力做出这些改变。

治疗还需要承诺。一旦我们同意共同努力实现某个目标,您必须全身心投入并始终如一地参加会议,这一点很重要。

4 |治疗有时会感到不舒服和痛苦。

有时,客户有一种误解,认为每次治疗后他们应该总是感觉良好。在最初的几次治疗中,只要有一个安全的空间来释放情绪,您可能会感觉良好。然而,治疗的真正价值应该是帮助您获得更大的自我意识和个人成长,而不仅仅是让您每周感觉良好一个小时。随着工作的进展,您感到不舒服、不知所措或沮丧,这是正常的。

一些客户还表示,在一次精神疲惫的治疗结束后,他们感到身体疲惫。这是一种常见的经历,称为“宿醉治疗”。这就是为什么有些客户更喜欢在工作日结束时或空闲日安排会议,因为很难知道之后您的感受如何。

5 |治疗是一个需要时间的过程。

关于治疗,您需要了解的最后一件事是,这是一个需要时间的过程。

研究表明,来访者和治疗师之间的治疗联盟的质量是影响因素之一。 影响治疗结果的最重要因素,建立工作关系需要时间。而且,我们的一些问题是几年、甚至几十年的时间里才确定的。因此,改变已经形成的根深蒂固的模式需要时间,这是合理的。

总共

我希望这有助于让您深入了解治疗过程。

开始您的治疗之旅

如果您有兴趣与 专业辅导员,联系我们或在此处预约。

帖子导航

2 对“5 Important Things You Must Know About Therapy”的思考

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

姓名 *

5 Important Things You Must Know About Therapy

Thinking of starting therapy?

Taking that first step to focus on your mental health is a brave and wonderful thing. However, it can be scary not knowing what to expect if you have not been through the therapy process.

In this post, I write about the most important things you must know about therapy, drawing from my experience as a practicing psychotherapist. I hope this post helps you better understand what to expect from therapy, and decide whether therapy is for you.

Without further ado, here are 5 important things you must know about therapy.

5 Important Things You Must Know About Therapy

 

1 | Going for therapy is perfectly normal.

“I don’t feel too happy, but I’m not too sure if this is something serious enough for me to require… therapy.”

“So… do you think that there is something wrong with me?”

Here’s the most important thing about therapy that you need to know – Going for therapy does not mean that you are weak or crazy. Frequently, clients voice out the concerns and hesitations that they have about seeking therapy. These concerns are perfectly understandable, given the strong stigma surrounding the idea of therapy, especially in our Asian culture. There is a serious misconception that if you need therapy, there must be something wrong with you.

However, the truth is that therapy is for everybody. Seeking therapy is about as normal as seeking professional care for any other aspects of your life, such as consulting a doctor when you are sick, or working with a personal trainer to improve your physical strength. It is equally important, and equally as valuable, whether you are working on improving your emotional health from a 0 to 2 or from a 6 to 8.

2 | Therapy is not just ‘talking’.

In the first few sessions, therapy may seem like it’s just ‘talking’. Through sharing about yourself, our first sessions together are important in allowing me to get to know you better, learn about the significant influences in your life, and understand where you are at this point in your life. From there, I can better understand the issues that you have been struggling with, and collaboratively decide the best way to move forward.

Therapy is also not the same as talking to a friend. Your friends may have their own personal opinions, and may give you advice on what they think you should do. They may also bring in their own problems. As your therapist, I am invested not in the outcomes of your final decision, but that you make the most comfortable decision for yourself.

3 | Therapy takes work.

“I just need you to cheer her up before her exams next week.”

Therapy does not work like a magic pill. Therapy requires you, the client, to do a lot of work. Some clients experience an emotional release right from the first session, by being able to share things that they have not been able to share with anybody else. While that is fantastic, most therapeutic change and personal growth only occurs when you start working on the hard stuff. This may mean revisiting painful experiences from the past, sitting in uncomfortable feelings, and working on the self-defeating beliefs and behaviours that have been holding you back. In addition, therapy also requires you to work on making these changes outside of the session, where your real life happens.

Therapy also requires commitment. Once we agree to work on a certain goal together, it is important that you are committed and show up for sessions consistently.

4 | Therapy can be uncomfortable and painful at times.

Sometimes, clients have the misconception that they should always feel good after each session. In the first few sessions, you may feel good simply by having a safe space to release your emotions. However, the true value of therapy should be to help you gain greater self-awareness and personal growth, not just for you to feel good an hour a week. It is normal for you to feel uncomfortable, overwhelmed or disheartened as the work progresses.

Some clients also share that they feel physically tired at the end of an emotionally draining session. This is a common experience known as ‘therapy hangover’. This is why some clients prefer to schedule sessions at the end of the work day, or during a free day, because it is hard to know how you would feel after.

5 | Therapy is a process that takes time.

The last thing that you need to know about therapy is that it is a process that takes time.

Research has shown that quality of the therapeutic alliance between the client and the therapist is one of the most important factors influencing therapy outcomes, and it takes time for a working relationship to establish. Furthermore, some of our issues have been established over the course of a few years, or even decades. Hence, it is only reasonable that it takes time to change deeply-rooted patterns that have established.

In Sum

I hope that this was helpful in giving you an insight into the therapy process. If you are interested in working with me, check out my services for teenagers and adults or book an appointment with me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *